Baby’s been gone

Baby’s been gone
Been gone so long
I don’t know what to do
Or what to get into

Place out of time
Words out of rhyme
I really have nothing left
To believe in

Words without noise
Games without toys
Can’t you hear the wind
It is screaming

People don’t notice
Drivin my lotus
Is the pain really there
Or do I only imagine

People all gone
I sing my own song
For those who are there
But not really listening

Fixative stare
Gasp without wonder
Grasp without hold
Mistake minus blunder

One cold hard glance
Don’t give me a chance
It’s only a mirror
So what’s your problem

Love that was strong
Something went wrong
Leaves on the trees
All fell off yesterday

I look past their eyes
My thoughts mesmerized
I’m lost in a world
Of no feeling no senses

Sitting alone
Writing this poem
It’s just my thoughts
That I want to go home

My life stepped like ridges
I can’t cross the bridges
It’s like grasping the air while
I’m falling from the ground

Baby’s been gone
Been gone so long
I don’t know what to do
Or what to get into.

U of W 1972.11.30

Babys been gone

About Robert M Palmer

Word Crafting, Visual Memories, Audible Bites, Ringleader & Emptor.
This entry was posted in Pongs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

